President’s update 2017

Thank you to those Members and Associates who attended this year’s AGM.

On behalf of the Council and Members of Philanthropy Australia, I am pleased to announce the results of the election for Council, which was formalised at our 2017 Annual General Meeting.

We received six nominations for five positions, therefore, in accordance with our Rules, we held a ballot earlier this year.

The following Members, in alphabetical order, have been appointed to Philanthropy Australia’s Council:

  • Kirsty Allen
  • Amanda Miller
  • Alan Schwartz (re-elected)
  • Genevieve Timmons (re-elected)
  • Craig Winkler (re-elected)

I invite you to welcome our new members and re-elected members to the Philanthropy Australia Council.Information about our Council Members can be found on the Philanthropy Australia website.

I would also like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to our outgoing Council members, Mike Gonski, who left the Council last year with our thanks, and Peter Winneke, who stepped down this year. We are particularly indebted to Peter for his continued support of Philanthropy Australia and the sector more broadly, which is so much richer for the continued contribution of Peter’s ambition, passion, commitment and experience. 

During my President's Report today I spoke about our new 2017-2020 Strategic Plan that is underpinned by five strategic priorities: leadership & advocacy, connecting & convening, data & insight, professional learning & services and the better giving hub. I also spoke about the continued consultation around our business model and our consideration to changing our governance structure.

On behalf of Council and staff, we are committed to leading Philanthropy Australia through the next stage of its development, and we’re looking forward to supporting our great team to deliver the 2017-2020 Strategic Plan.

Thank you to all our Members for your ongoing support of Philanthropy Australia and promoting the sector.

Kind regards,

Alan Schwartz AM

Kirsty Allen
Alan Schwartz AM, President
Ann Johnson, Deputy
Allan English
Robert McLean AM
John McLeod
Amanda Miller
Joseph Skrzynski AO
Jenny Stephens
Caroline Stewart
Genevieve Timmons
Craig Winkler

Give. Stand. Respect.

The 2017 Philanthropy Meets Parliament Summit brought funders, nonprofits and policy makers together for two days of inspiring keynotes, case studies and challenging conversations about philanthropy’s role in advocating for change.

Summit Highlights