News + Media

Philanthropy Australia Announces 2016 Philanthropy Award Winners

April 20th, 2016

Criteria for selection focused on philanthropy that is visionary, high impact, transformative, and possessing defining qualities such as commitment, courage, and entrepreneurship.

2016 Leading Philanthropist Award 

  • Audette Exel AO, Founder & Chair of the Adara Group, NSW (offices in USA, Nepal, Uganda and Bermuda) 
    Philanthropic innovator and pioneer in the ‘business for purpose’ field. 

2016 Emerging Philanthropist Award 

  • Gemma Salteri, CAGES Foundation, NSW 
    Next generation philanthropic leader and public voice for the democratisation of giving and impact investment. 

2016 Best Large Grant of the Year Award (two winners) 

  • Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation, NSW 
    For CareerTrackers – strengthening career pathways for Indigenous Australian university students. 
  • James & Diana Ramsay Foundation and The Wyatt Trust, SA 
    For working together to enhance school retention, education re-engagement and building resilience and wellbeing

2016 Best Small Grant of the Year Award (<$50,000pa) 

  • Australian Communities Foundation, VIC 
    For its Refugee and Asylum Seeker Giving Circle 

2016 Gender-wise Philanthropy Award (two winners) 

  • The Barr Family Foundation, VIC 
    For their support of McAuley Community Services for Women’s pioneering Court Support 4 Kids program. 
  • John Dyson and Rose Gilder, Trustees of the Dyson Bequest, VIC 
    For their leadership in the area of gender equity initiatives for female scientists. 

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony in Melbourne last night (Tuesday 19 April). 

Criteria for selection focused on philanthropy that is visionary, high impact, transformative, and possessing defining qualities such as commitment, courage, and entrepreneurship. 

“The Philanthropy Awards recognise unique achievements in Australian philanthropy and the ways more and better philanthropy has been advanced by individuals and organisations across Australia,” Sarah Davies, CEO, Philanthropy Australia, said. 

“Our congratulations go to all the award winners and nominees of the 2016 Philanthropy Awards and to those who nominated them. 

“The Awards attracted a remarkably strong field of more than 50 nominees and it is an outstanding achievement for the seven award recipients to have been selected. The panel of judges, who are all qualified and experienced leaders in the philanthropy sector had a very tough job, and our thanks go to them. 

“Award winners are now recognised as leaders, inspiring potential and current philanthropic individuals and organisations to help our society grow and thrive. 

“Our thanks go to those who nominated so many impressive examples of great achievements in philanthropic giving” Sarah said. 

The Philanthropy Leader and Emerging Philanthropy Leader awards were presented for the first time in September 2014 at PA’s biennial conference in Melbourne. 

Philanthropy Australia would like to sincerely thank NAB for hosting the 2016 Awards evening, and FIIG Securities, sponsor of the Gender-wise Award. 

For more information about the 2016 Philanthropy Awards and stories behind the awards, please visit 

Media Release

Advocacy Update

February 2018

The Australian Government has announced a review of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) legislation.

Advocacy & Insight Manager, Krystian Seibert, outlines Philanthropy Australia's engagement with the review.


Get a taste of membership

Sign up for a free edition of our weekly newsletter to have sector news, views and resources delivered straight to your inbox.

Sign up now