Better Philanthropy Award

The Better Philanthropy Award recognises innovation and/or initiatives that have enhanced or extended current philanthropic practice, contributing to ‘better’ philanthropy.



Nominations will be assessed on the below criteria:  

  1. How the grant-maker or initiative has contributed to better philanthropy through enhancing or extending current philanthropic practice (E.g. new/different collaboration models, decision-making processes, funding structures, governance structures, tools, frameworks etc.)
  2. The problem that it sought to address or solve (Nb. there does NOT need to be evidence of positive outcomes or change being achieved, but there must be demonstrated assessment and learning as a result of applying the new approach)
  3. The unique approach or way of working developed by this grant-maker
  4. Specify the one thing that makes this a knockout nomination

This Award is for activity occurring in the last five years (2016-2020) – this may include design, funding, outcomes and/or delivery of impact.  


The Better Philanthropy Award is for the professional practice of philanthropy and it is awarded to philanthropists/organisations that are demonstrating best practice contemporary philanthropy through their work.

This award is focused on innovation and contribution to ‘better’ philanthropy.  Nominations may be for an individual organisation or a collaboration of funders.

The Australian Philanthropy Awards are open to all members of the Australian philanthropic and broader social change community. You are able to nominate your own organisation.

Have something to share?

We’d like to help spread the word. 

Learn more

The Better Giving Hub

The home for our Members. Improve. Innovate. Inspire.

Learn more