Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Australian Philanthropy Awards?

The Australian Philanthropy Awards recognise and celebrate extraordinary achievements in contemporary philanthropy for work that is visionary, high impact and transformative. They also celebrate partnerships between philanthropy and for-purpose organisations and honour those who are working to create lasting, positive change. 

Now in its seventh year, the Awards program comprises nine categories. 

What are the award categories? 

Philanthropy Australia Awards:

  • Leading Philanthropist – Australian philanthropy’s highest honour awarded to an individual 
  • Better Philanthropy Award 
  • Bolder Philanthropy Award 
  • Best Grant Program Award 

Cause-related awards: 

  • Community Philanthropy Award 
  • Environmental Philanthropy Award 
  • Indigenous Philanthropy Award 
  • International Philanthropy Award
  • The Eve Mahlab Gender-wise Philanthropy Award  

The Leading Philanthropist award is Australian philanthropy’s highest honour and it is awarded to an individual philanthropist whose work is visionary, high impact and transformative. 

The other eight awards are for the professional practice of philanthropy and focus on more and better giving.

What is the timeframe for philanthropic activity?

The Australian Philanthropy Awards celebrate philanthropic work that has occurred prior to 31 December 2020. Impact measurement and evaluation takes time, and it is too early to evaluate philanthropic initiatives and responses that launched this year.

The Bolder Philanthropy Award is for activity occurring in the last 10 years (2011-2020) – this may include design, funding, outcomes and/or impact.  The extended timeframe for this award (only) specifically acknowledges the longer-term approach that must be taken to launch an initiative seen as a ‘first of its kind’, as well as the time to replicate, scale and measure and assess its impact and achievements.  

The timeframe for the other eight Awards is for activity occurring in the last five years (2016-2020) – this may include design, funding, program outcomes and/or delivery of impact.

Who is eligible?

The Australian Philanthropy Awards are open to all members of the philanthropic and broader social change community – anyone can submit a nomination, and any organisations that work in partnership and align with the criteria are eligible to be nominated.  

Organisations and projects that have previously been nominated for an award and not received it may be nominated again in 2021. 

Funding initiatives that have previously received an Award may be nominated again in a different category. 

Please note that you may not nominate yourself, but you are able to nominate your own organisation i.e. the nominator can be the same as the nominee.

Philanthropy Australia board members, current staff and members of the Australian Philanthropy Awards selection panel are not eligible to submit a nomination OR themselves be nominated by a third party.  In the instance that a selection panellist’s organisation is nominated by someone other than themselves, they will remove themselves from the selection process of that category.

What is the deadline to complete a nomination? 

The nomination period for the Australian Philanthropy Awards 2021 closed at 5pm AEST Friday 16 July 2021. 

Nominations will be reviewed by the selection panel in August and the nominators (listed as the contact on the nomination form) will be advised of the outcome of their nomination(s) shortly after this.

The Philanthropy Australia Australian Philanthropy Awards Selection Panel comprises experienced and well-respected practitioners and this panel review nominations for the Leading Philanthropist, Better Philanthropy Award, Bolder Philanthropy Award and the Best Grant Program Award.

Each of the Category Awards has its own Selection Panel comprising experienced and well-respected leaders, practitioners and researchers in that field.

All nominations and nominees’ names will remain confidential. Only recipients will be announced.  Please note that all decisions made by the Australian Philanthropy Awards selection panel are final. 

When is the Awards event?

The 2021 Australian Philanthropy Awards celebration will be held on Tuesday 16 November 2021. Watch this space for more announcements!

All updates in relation to the event will be communicated via Philanthropy Australia’s website, the Better Giving Hub and all social media channels.

If you have any questions or would like additional information about this year’s Australian Philanthropy Awards, please contact us at  

Have something to share?

We’d like to help spread the word. 

Learn more

Upcoming Events

Explore the latest events from the sector

More details