International Award for The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund

The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund have been named as this year’s recipient of the prestigious International Funders for Indigenous People’s Award. The award is given annually, to an individual or institutional donor that exemplifies leadership in Indigenous Philanthropy.

This is the first time the award will be presented to an organisation outside of North America.

Christine Edwards, CEO of The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund will accept the Award at the Annual IFIP Awards Celebration during the Ninth Annual Conference themed, “Building and Sustaining Coalitions: Finding Common Ground for Education, Environment and Human Rights Advocacy,” to be held in May 2010 in Canada.

According to IFIP, The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund have been honoured with the 2010 IFIP Award in recognition of their “outstanding progress towards improving Indigenous education and well-being and support for better natural resource management in Australia.”

Some of the significant work supported by The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund in these areas in recent years includes the People on Country project of the Centre for Aboriginal and Economic Policy Research at the Australian National University, the Clontarf Foundation’s Football Academies in Alice Springs, and the innovative and influential Stronger Smarter program, developed and implemented by Dr Chris Sarra at the Indigenous Education Leadership Institute.

The award provides an opportunity to recognise a history of giving to indigenous affairs by The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund over many years, often in areas that were contentious. One of the most significant examples is research commissioned by the Foundation in the early 1970s called the “Aborigines in Australian Society” Project. Completed primarily by Charles Rowley, this work produced three volumes of writing under the overall title of “Aboriginal Practice and Policy”.

This work has been described as “… the foundation stone for contemporary reflection on Aboriginal history and policy” ,

Christine Edwards, CEO of The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund said “We are fortunate that Myer has a long history of strategic philanthropy, and that the Boards of both entities are progressive in their approaches to contemporary philanthropic practice.” 

Past winners of the IFIP AWARD include the Garfield Foundation, The Christensen Fund, and the Kalliopeia Foundation.

The first recipient of the award was Susan Berresford, President of the Ford Foundation, for her leadership in increasing a greater commitment from a philanthropic institution for international Indigenous sustainable projects and communities.

May. 05, 2010

 Tags: stories, general

Philanthropy Weekly Newsletter

Sign up to our weekly e-newsletter for sector news, expert opinion and resources.

Sign up here