Philanthropy Australia announces two prominent philanthropists as new Life Members

Wed, 24 May 2023

Two of Australia’s philanthropic leaders – Ann Johnson and Alan Schwartz AM –today received Life Membership of Philanthropy Australia.

Philanthropy Australia Life Membership is recognition of outstanding and distinctive contribution to Philanthropy Australia and the wider philanthropic sector.

Ann and Alan join a distinguished list of Life Members that includes Gina Fairfax and Tim Fairfax AC, David Gonski AC and the late Dame Elisabeth Murdoch AC DBE.

Ann Johnson was the Co-Chair of Philanthropy Australia from 2019 to 2022 and also served as Deputy Chair. Together with her family she runs the W & A Johnson Family Foundation and is a passionate advocate for others to give to causes, including the arts. Ann is the Deputy Chair of the Sydney Theatre Company.

Alan Schwartz AM was the Chair of Philanthropy Australia from 2014 to 2019. In his own words, his professional life has transitioned from “entrepreneur and business builder” to “active investor, philanthropist and social activist”. Alan and his wife Carol Schwartz AO established the Trawalla Foundation in 2004 as a vehicle for their family’s philanthropic activities. In recognition of his contribution to community and business, Alan was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2003, followed by a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2007.

Announcing the honours, Philanthropy Australia Co-Chair Amanda Miller OAM, spoke of the pair’s shared characteristics: “We are delighted to pay tribute to Ann and Alan for their passion and significant contribution to Philanthropy Australia and the wider philanthropic sector.

“Our organisation is in a strong position today thanks to their exceptional leadership and generous support as Philanthropy Champions over many years. We thank and honour them for their outstanding service.”