Alan Schwartz and other leading philanthropists honoured in King’s list

Fri, 16 Jun 2023

Philanthropy Australia congratulates philanthropists and those working across the not-for-profit sector who have been recognised in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours.

Leaders from the philanthropic sector were among almost 1,200 Australians recognised in the King’s Birthday Honours earlier this week for outstanding work in their communities. Philanthropy Australia Life Members Alan Schwartz and Kristin and Sarah Stegley were among those who received top honours. 

For the first time since the Order of Australia was established in 1975, the majority of recipients in the General Division are women, and there is gender parity or better at the three highest levels in the Order.  

Alan Schwartz, former Philanthropy Australia Chair, was awarded his AO for distinguished service to the community through philanthropic endeavours, and to sustainable social benefit initiatives. Alan and his wife Carol Schwartz established the Trawalla Foundation in 2004, which is focused on funding projects that strengthening gender equality, creativity, sustainability and social justice. 

Alan was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2003, followed by an Order of Australia in 2007. He is delighted the receive the recognition and said: “I feel pleased and grateful. It’s a nice feeling to be recognised by your peers. Although we do not do philanthropy for recognition, recognition is appreciated, and can act as a motivator for even more. 

“I will continue working in the overlap and interplay between philanthropy and commerce – a fascinating area and one with enormous leverage for dollars spent.” 

Kristin Stegley and her sister Sarah have both been awarded AMs. The Stegley Foundation was established as a limited life philanthropic trust in 1973. The Foundation has supported organisations and groups working within local communities, or with communities of interest, to challenge discriminatory policy and practice, build social infrastructure and promote social justice and equity. 

Kristin said: “This award is shared with many others. Sarah and I have only been the conduits to help challenge the systemic causes of disadvantage and inequity.

“The real deservers of awards are those who live with it and rise above it. Long may the philanthropic sector support those great people.”

A number of other Philanthropy Australia members and associates were also recognised. Policy Committee Member Professor Josephine Barraket received an AM for significant service to education, and to the development of social enterprise. Member and city mayor Sally Capp was recognised for distinguished service to the people of Melbourne, to local government, business and to the community through various organisations.  

Lisa Wilson received an AO for distinguished service to primary industry, and to the education of refugee and asylum seeker young women. Robyn Batten was awarded an AM for significant service to the not-for-profit, health and aged care sectors. Katherine Kennedy, Chair of Barlow Impact Group, received an AM for significant service to the community through charitable organisations. 

Philanthropy Australia congratulates and thanks all those notable recipients for their contribution to our communities and helping to grow a culture of generosity in Australia. 

In announcing the awards, the Governor-General, David Hurley AC, said: “Congratulations to the outstanding Australians recognised in today’s Honours List. Recipients have made substantial contributions and had a significant impact at the local, national or international level. Some are volunteers, others have had a remarkable impact in professional roles – many have done both. They are inspiring and their service is valued by us all.  

“Learning about the wide-ranging service of recipients, which spans almost every field of endeavour imaginable, is uplifting and makes me enormously optimistic for our country. Collectively they speak to who we are now and who we can be in the future.” 

Other notable recipients include Jennifer Macklin, who was awarded an AC for eminent service to the people and Parliament of Australia, to social welfare, particularly the introduction of paid parental leave and the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and to the Indigenous community.  

Dr Cassandra Goldie, CEO of the Australian Council of Social Service, was awarded an AO for distinguished service to social justice through leadership and advocacy to promote the rights of people marginalised and disadvantaged in the community. Former Sex Discrimination Commissioner Kate Jenkins received an AO for distinguished service to human rights governance, to advancing gender equity, to the promotion of inclusivity and to the law.  

Read more on the complete list