Australian Philanthropy Awards 2017

The third annual Australian Philanthropy Awards celebrate the best of the best in our sector who are working to create lasting and positive change.

Nomination Closed

The Australian Philanthropy Awards unearth achievements in contemporary philanthropy and provide a snapshot of the breadth and diversity of efforts across Australia to create more and better philanthropy.

This year’s awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the philanthropic community across 6 categories: Leading Philanthropist, Best Large Grant, Best Small Grant, Environmental Philanthropy Award, Gender-wise Philanthropy Award, and Indigenous Philanthropy Award.

Australian Philanthropy Awards 2017 recipients

Leading Philanthropist

Ian Darling (Sydney, NSW)

Indigenous Philanthropy Award

Social Ventures Australia

For the Marnin Studio, Marninwarntikura Fitzroy Women’s Resource Centre

Environmental Philanthropy Award

The Ian Potter Foundation

For the Reef Life Survey in Tasmania

Gender-wise Philanthropy Award

The Caledonia Foundation

For Good Pitch’s The Hunting Ground Australia Project

Best Large Grant of the Year

The Myer Foundation

For ClimateWorks Australia

Best Small Grant of the Year

The Funding Network

For Manjeri, Uganda


The Australian Philanthropy Awards 2017 were generously supported by:

Ninti One

Australian Environmental Grantmakers Network

FIIG Securities

Australian Women Donors Network

Financial Standard

Think HQ


Become a partner


See past editions of the Australian Philanthropy Awards program

If you have any questions or would like more information about the Australian Philanthropy Awards, contact us at [email protected]