Australian Philanthropy Awards 2024

The 2024 Australian Philanthropy Awards recognised and celebraed extraordinary achievements in contemporary philanthropy.

Nomination Closed

Award recipients include Climate 200 (in two categories), Terry Snow AM and Ginette Snow, the philanthropic arm of cosmetics retailer MECCA, an initiative to support the LGBTIQ+ community, and a centre and scholarships program to support people from underrepresented groups become doctors. The full list of Award recipients is below.

Adam Ognall, Acting CEO of Philanthropy Australia, commented on the outstanding award finalists and recipients: “The 10 recipients are a true display of excellence in philanthropic giving across a broad range of cause areas and communities.

“The award recipients exemplify the philosophy of ‘more and better giving for a generous and inclusive Australia’.

“We were delighted with the engagement by the not-for-profit and philanthropic sectors in the awards, with a doubling of nominations compared to the previous awards. My sincere thanks to all those who spent time preparing their entries and to our independent judging panels.”

Australian Philanthropy Awards 2024 – recipients

Collaboration Award

Voices for Impact
Established in 2017, the Australian Communities Foundation Impact Fund harnesses the power of collective giving to address critical issues in Australia across the areas of inequality, democracy, environment and First Nations self-determination. The Impact Fund’s 2023 program, Voices for Impact, concentrated efforts on supporting First Nations self-determination, raising more than $2.3 million and distributing more than 130 grants to 80+ organisations. The program featured partnerships with Australians for Indigenous Constitutional Recognition, GetUp and Australian Progress.


Preventing mental health issues in young Australians: a social impact collaboration
In development since 2022, the Future Generation Global Impact Measurement Initiative involves 14 not-for-profit organisations, Future Generation Global (philanthropic funder), Social Outcomes (impact measurement specialists) and Seer Data and Analytics (data specialists). The FGG Impact Measurement Initiative is an ambitious collaboration to demonstrate the value of investing in wellbeing and the prevention of mental ill-health, as well as in the core operations and development of high potential not-for-profit organisations.

Community Philanthropy Award – presented in partnership with Community Foundations Australia, Australian Communities Foundation, Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal and Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation

Amplify Pride Fund

The Ampilfy Pride Fund was established in 2022 by Aurora Group and GiveOUT, two LGBTIQ+ led community funders, to help to tackle the challenges and barriers still facing vulnerable members of the LGBTIQ+ community in Australia – poorer mental health, isolation, homelessness, and social and economic marginalisation.

Environmental and Climate Philanthropy Award – presented in partnership with the Australian Environmental Grantmakers Network

Climate 200

Climate 200 tackles the root cause of Australia’s inaction on climate – a broken democracy. They help communities voice their concern for climate action in independent campaigns that make politicians act to neutralise this threat.  C200 raised $13.5 million from 11,200 donors for the 2022 federal election and supported 23 campaigns. 11 were elected, including David Pocock, Monique Ryan, and Allegra Spender. They have helped federal parliament pass major climate reforms, including increasing Australia’s 2030 emissions reduction target from 26% to 43%.

First Nations Philanthropy Award – presented in partnership with Ninti One Ltd

Bibbulmun Fund and WA Relief and Recovery Fund (held with the Fremantle Foundation)

The Bibbulmun Fund (a sub-fund of the Fremantle Foundation) was founded 11 years ago by highly respected Noongar elder Kim Collard, founder of Kulbardi, Australia’s largest Aboriginal-owned stationery supply company and Kooya Australia Fleet Solutions. The Bibbulmun Fund has collectively raised more than $1.4 million and supported 19 First Nations charitable organisations across Australia.

Innovation Award

Climate 200

Climate 200 tackles the root cause of Australia’s inaction on climate, integrity, and gender equality – a broken democracy. Climate 200 fundraises for, and strategically regrants to communities, to raise awareness of and democratic participation. Their innovative approach to climate advocacy raised $13.5 million from 11,200 donors and supported 23 independents in the 2022 election.

International Philanthropy Award – presented in partnership with the Australian International Development Network

Cambodian Children’s Fund – Neeson Cripps Academy

Opened in February 2017, the Neeson Cripps Academy is a gift from The Cripps Foundation and was designed pro-bono by world-class architects, COOKFOX. The school is named after Cambodian Children’s Foundation founder Scott Neeson and former Velcro Companies Chairman Robert Cripps.

Inclusion Award

The Damion Drapac Centre and Damion Drapac Scholarships for Vocational Doctors

Mr Michael Drapac’s gift of $6.3 million to Deakin University’s School of Medicine to establish the Damion Drapac Centre and Damion Drapac Scholarship for Vocational Doctors is a transformational gift in memory of Mr Drapac’s son Damion, who died while riding his bike, just months after graduating from Deakin University’s medical school. The Damion Drapac Centre supports the aspirations of First Nations people, people with diverse and regional backgrounds, and those from underrepresented groups.

Leadership Award – presented in partnership with Macquarie Group

Terry Snow AM and Ginette Snow

Terry Snow AM and Ginette Snow’s dedication to philanthropy, formally started 33 years ago through The Snow Foundation / Canberra region. They now give on a national scale addressing key social justice issues, backing social entrepreneurs and innovation and more recently breakthrough medical research. 

The Eve Mahlab AO Gender-wise Philanthropy Award – presented in partnership with Australians Investing in Women


M-POWER is MECCA’s social change initiative focused on advancing gender equality. MECCA supports a collective of more than 20 not-for-profits working to educate girls, advance opportunities for women at work, improve women’s health and enhance the representation of women by elevating their voices and the issues that matter to them.