Community Philanthropy Award

The Community Philanthropy Award recognises achievements through funding projects or organisations that specifically support impact through community-led philanthropy.

Nomination Closed

Use our awards website to nominate someone for the Community Philanthropy Award.

Nominations are welcomed from Philanthropy Australia members, non-members, supporters and friends of our partner organisations.

The Australian Philanthropy Awards are open to all members of the Australian philanthropic and broader social change community. You are able to nominate your own organisation.

Nominations will be assessed on the below criteria:

  1. Excellence in approach, research or program that has either led to great outcomes or positive impact. Specify the one thing that makes this an outstanding nomination.
  2. Engages community on the issues that affect it and builds the capacity of community to respond.
  3. Demonstrates an understanding of people-led development and an ability to leverage and unlock the inherent power of community – both monetary and non-monetary assets and resources (relationships, knowledge, social capital, research).
  4. Demonstrates power sharing – for example, a community foundation or philanthropy group acting as a conduit to local knowledge and need or a trust-based and participatory model of grant-making / decision-making.
  5. Demonstrates collaboration – engages multiple different views and voices through conversations, events, or partnerships.

The timeframe is for activity occurring in the last five years – this may include design, funding, program outcomes and/or delivery of impact, or evaluation and reporting.

To nominate, you will need to:

  • Address the selection criteria in Awards Force explaining what makes this an outstanding nomination
  • Optional: Estimate the amount of philanthropic investment – financial and non-financial.

Please note: no payment is required or requested at any stage of the nomination process – entries are free.

Nominations for the Community Philanthropy Award:

  • open Thursday 7 December
  • close Sunday 25 February 2024 at 11.59pm (AEDT)

Thank you for supporting the Australian Philanthropy Awards through this nomination. To receive updates, you can sign up to our newsletter or follow us on social media.

If you have any questions or would like more information about this year’s Australian Philanthropy Awards, contact us at [email protected]


The 2024 Community Philanthropy Award is presented in partnership with:

Community Foundations Australia

Community Foundations Australia (CFAustralia) is the peak body for Australia’s network of community foundations. Established in 2007 by and for community foundation practitioners, we are a member-based, not-for-profit organisation and registered charity.

Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation

For close to 100 years, Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation has made a real and lasting impact on the big challenges facing Greater Melbourne.

Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal

Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal (FRRR) – the know and how to ensure the long-term vitality of rural and remote Australia..

Australian Communities Foundation

Australian Communities Foundation is a community of giving, powered by a courageous ambition: a fairer and more sustainable Australia.

Past recipients

YearWinnerRelated article
2021Inner North Community Foundation
2020Give Where You Live Foundation, Geelong Community Foundation and Kids Thrive