Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognises excellence in innovation, experimentation through programs, projects and initiatives that have enhanced or extended current philanthropic practice, contributing to addressing disadvantage.

Nomination Closed

Use our awards website to nominate someone for the Innovation Award.

Nominations are welcomed from Philanthropy Australia members, non-members, supporters and friends of our partner organisations.

The Australian Philanthropy Awards are open to all members of the Australian philanthropic and broader social change community. You are able to nominate your own organisation.

Nominations are assessed by the selection panel on the following criteria:

  1. Concrete examples of demonstrated innovation in design, implementation, funding approach provided
  2. Uniqueness in the approach or way of working
  3. Lessons and good practice have been applied or shared

This Award is for activity occurring in the last five years (2019- 2023) – this may include design, funding, outcomes, delivery, evaluations or reporting.

Nominators remain confidential and only finalists and successful recipients are announced.

Questions to be addressed in a short (1-2 page summary or 2 minute video):

  • What is it about this project/program/entity that demonstrates outstanding innovation?
  • Why do you think this project/program/initiative deserves recognition?
  • What can others in the philanthropy sector learn from this example as being good practice?
  • Specify the one thing that makes this an outstanding nomination.

Nominations for the Innovation Award:

  • open Thursday 7 December 2023
  • close Sunday 25 February 2024 at 11.59pm (AEDT)

Thank you for supporting the Australian Philanthropy Awards through this nomination. To receive updates, you can sign up to our newsletter or follow us on social media.

If you have any questions or would like more information about this year’s Australian Philanthropy Awards, contact us at [email protected]

Become a partner

Past recipients (previously named the Bolder Philanthropy Award)

YearWinnerRelated article
2021Gandel Foundation and Smiling Mind
2020Gandel Philanthropy and the Australian Foundation for Yad Vashem